For Such A Time As This

I love reading the book of Esther, my favorite verse is the climax where Mordecai charges Esther with the following statement:

For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” Esther 4:14

Through the book of Esther we watch Esther transition from being an orphan in the care of her cousin, to the royal position of queen.  Through this well known story, and Mordecai’s challenge, we are reminded that God raises people up to certain positions to be used through obedience for His purposes and glory. 

We see a similar theme in the life of Joseph, as the favored son of his father, we see Joseph betrayed by his own brothers, sold into slavery and travelling a road wrought with hardship.  Eventually he, too, winds up in a royal position, all the while being used through obedience for God’s puposes and glory.  He reminds his brothers of this in Genesis 50:20:

You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.

God has us here for such a time as this.  He has a plan, and divine appointments for us, if only we will seek Him and His will (Ephesians 5:15-17).  Ours may not be a royal position or the dramatic saving of lives, but it will undoubtedly be for His glory. 

I’m reminded of a precious woman whom God placed in my life in a “for such a time as this” moment.  I will cautiously preface the following testimony by saying it was God’s will for us individually to homeschool our family, in no way do I believe it to be His will for all Christians.  I wrestled at length with His conviction and my husband’s urging to homeschool my children.  I had reluctantly agreed, but was so discouraged at the thought of it.  It certainly was not my heart’s desire at the time, but rather an act of obedience to God’s prompting and my husband’s urging.  That morning I cried out to God, broken in spirit and overwhelmed with the task at hand.  I pleaded with Him for a physical touch, for affirmation of His instruction and encouragement as I sought to be obedient.  I was to meet my husband for lunch that afternoon, arriving slightly early I went into Dollar Tree to browse.  As I was kneeling looking at a display, a woman came and stood over me.  She struck up a conversation, and not long into it, it was clear she was my physical touch.  God sent her to affirm His plan for me, to encourage me in obedience to His will, and to bless me beyond words.  She probably has no idea how she was used that day; but I know from what she shared, she had been seeking Him and He had used her for such a time as that.

The appointment may be noble like Esther’s and Joseph’s, or ignoble like that of the precious saint in my Dollar Tree encounter. But the end result is ultimately the same – God’s glory.  From a worldly view it might seem of little importance that she encouraged me that day.  But from my vantage point, it was a direct touch from God.   Her obedience profoundly impacted me as a testimony of my Father’s faithfulness, and solidified my obedience in the matter.

How I pray that I will always be available to be used by Him for every opportunity.  May I always be seeking Him and fully surrendered so that my eyes will be open to every appointment, be it noble or ignoble .  Let me not be set on determining my steps, but let me seek the direction He would have me go (Jeremiah 10:23).  As I seek Him through His word, I pray that He will grant me His wisdom so that I may make the most of every opportunity He sets before me, and be used for such a time as this (Ephesians 5:15-17; Colossians 4:5). 

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  Hebrews 12:1-3

Leave a Reply

