Can they tell I’ve been with Jesus?

Just a thought to share for today… Reading through Acts this morning, I was struck afresh by a familiar verse, Acts 4:13.

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.

It struck me that what astonished the rulers, elders and teachers of the law in Jerusalem was not Peter and John’s eloquence of speech, their impressive articulation of theology or any other quality these men of stature would generally find impressive.  It was, rather, their courage.  Peter and John had absolute confidence and faith in Christ which gave them courageous spirits as they testified to The Truth.  They were unschooled, ordinary men sold out for Jesus and boldly proclaiming His truths.

How I long for people to see Jesus in me.  May I leave them thinking, “she has been with Jesus.”  Like Moses, may my countenance reflect His glory in radiance from basking in His presence (Ex. 34:29).  When I am called to testify for my Lord, may I answer like Peter and John, that I “cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard.”  On this journey with Him, I have seen His mighty and gentle hand at work and heard His voice time and again, may I never cease to share Him, His ways and His wonders.

13 Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. 14 Do everything in love. 1 Corinthians 16:13-14

7 For God did not give us a spirit of timidity,  but a spirit of power,  of love and of self-discipline.

8 So do not be ashamed   to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner.   But join with me in suffering for the gospel,   by the power of God, 9 who has saved  us and called  us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done  but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time,” 2 Timothy 1:8-9

13 We know   that we live in him and he in us, because he has given us of his Spirit. 14 And we have seen and testify   that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world. 15 If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God,   God lives in him and he in God.  1 John 4:13-15

3 thoughts on “Can they tell I’ve been with Jesus?

  1. Amen to that. Well stated. I often wonder ….does it show?, can they tell? I want to reflect Him, but I often get more consumed with me, rather than Him.

  2. Yes, I feel you have been in His presence, Karen, from your writings while being on the pastor search committee. I told Scott he was such a blessed man. I was astounded at what your wrote and the Scripture you included. I am so glad you have each other. Just a glimpse. Just a glimpse, and what I read convinced me that you have walked with Him for years and studied the Scriptures. What parents you must have had! What teachers you must have had! Thank you for sending me the information about RELENTLESS. I am happy to have read it. You encourage me! You amaze me!

Leave a Reply

